Kids Eat Right Comes To a Close

School meals, once ranking right alongside airline food on the “deliciousness” scale, have since become a convoluted, complicated topic. I’m not sure most parents understand the requirements for the lunches served to their kids; frankly, sometimes I feel like no one could possibly keep up with the ever-changing regulations, deadlines, and deals made in the name of children’s health.

I’ve wanted to write an article about this issue for a while now, but sadly, have not been able to find the time I wanted to really dig into the topic. Luckily, I found this article today that sums up the last decade of school food regulations with a particular focus on the last four years.

The article, How School Lunch Became the Latest Political Battleground from The New York Times, talks mainly about the evolution of school meals since the Healthy, Hunger-free Kids Act of 2010 was passed. Proponents of the strict regulations have since switched sides (who would’ve thought the School Nutrition Association would eventually become one of the most vocal opponents of the very bill they championed?) and new deals have since been struck. It’s a bit of a lengthy read, but is one of the better synthesis articles I have come across. It certainly explains the complicated legal ramifications and rebuttals better than I could in the short time I have to make this post.

Have you had any interactions with the school meal system, either positive or negative, as a parent or student, that relate to this topic? Leave a comment below!

One thought on “Kids Eat Right Comes To a Close”

  1. My mom was forced to eat school lunch growing up and she was always sick, so she made her kids eat lunch from home that was healthier, for the most part, and credits that to why we were rarely sick during school.
    To me, school lunches always looked disgusting and my friends complained about things like cold food or undercooked fries, so I was good with my brown bag lunches.

    Like

Leave a Reply

